Warning: preg_match(): Compilation failed: unrecognized character after (?< at offset 4 in /web1/user27412/website/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1657
The Amazing Spider-Man 2 Review – Cult Fix

9 Comments

  1. The Administrator
    April 19, 2014 @ 7:50 pm

    I loved this film. 10/10

    Reply

  2. Joel Mole
    April 19, 2014 @ 10:16 pm

    I’m glad to see a positive review of the film. Earlier today I saw a review that was 100% negative and he even said it was worse than Batman and Robin. So it was refreshing to see this positive review

    Reply

  3. TardisBoy
    April 20, 2014 @ 12:22 am

    I read this expecting a spoiler free review as it was stated…only to be spoiled about two major things (one wasn’t outrightly spoiled, but strongly hinted at by the author who made it really obvious as to what it was). Quite annoyed about that. But still, great review – but it would have been nice to have discovered these things watching the film for myself.

    Reply

    • PK-S
      April 20, 2014 @ 12:27 pm

      If you’re referring to the bit I think you are (the penultimate paragraph?) then I see your point. I can infer a lot from it and I think it’s really spoiled a bit of the movie..

      Reply

    • EmpathDigital
      April 21, 2014 @ 12:27 pm

      Hi there – I’m Phil and I wrote this article. I’m sorry that you feel that this review spoiled anything major about the movie: I spent a lot of time writing and re-writing the part that you seem to be referring to, and as much as I did end up implying the outcome of a certain event I felt it was important to talk in some way about what was, for me, the most emotionally affecting part of the movie. Perhaps I should have done this more subtly, but I ran the text past several people who had not seen the film before submitting and they saw no issues with what I had written so I didn’t see any need to change it.

      As for the second major thing I supposedly spoiled, I can’t work out what it is: if it’s anything to do with Peter’s discoveries about his father’s work, I did not mention anything that wasn’t covered in the first film; if it was about Rhino getting minimal screen time that was something which has been widely covered in pre-release interviews and promotional material; if it’s something else that I’m missing, please do enlighten me as I’m sure it was not intentional.

      I did also voice my concerns about the nature of the review to the editor of the site, who as you can see has now removed the phrase ‘spoiler-free’ from the title of the article, but I am sorry that you feel my review spoiled your enjoyment of the film: I’m a film fan myself and it is never my intention when writing these reviews to ruin the experience for anyone else.

      Reply

      • PK-S
        April 21, 2014 @ 4:38 pm

        Hi Phil,

        While I may not be TardisBoy (I’m sure he’ll see this and give his own response), I must say that even though you don’t say anything explicit – Lord knows what would have happened if you did – if anyone has heard even a mere whisper of said spoiler in the past few months or, more critically, been a comic-book aficionado (obviously, they would know about this spoiler but not necessarily which movie it would occur in) then it’s pretty much spoiled.

        Obviously, you didn’t mean to, it’s just one of those innocent mistakes that happen occasionally. I won’t hold a grudge and I’m just glad you enjoyed the movie because everyone else has been a bit pessimistic.

        Great review, too!

        Reply

        • ShalkaDoctor
          April 22, 2014 @ 5:58 pm

          He didn’t spoil it, so get off your soapbox and stop giving him a hard time. It’s purely down to your interpretation of the review.

          You’d only interpret it as a spoiler if you had:

          a) already seen the movie and knew what was happening and what he was hinting at
          b) knew the comics
          c) or read and article that speculated or outright spoiled it based on the comics

          Reply

          • Basically Just a Snow Queen
            April 23, 2014 @ 12:55 am

            I just saw the ending (even though I live in America. Thanks Primewire. :P)

            I already knew it, because of the old comics, and a certain persons’ clothes, but I was hoping it wasn’t so.

            And the third one definitely applies. Need to actually read the comic. :P

            DEM FEELS. :( :P

  4. Calebxy
    April 20, 2014 @ 5:29 pm

    I really really liked this film. It’s definitely one of my favourites. However, I thought it was a bit slow around the middle, whereas the first film was thoroughly perfect in every way. So the first one is still my favourite, but this comes in at a close second.

    Also, that Goblin fight scene towards the end was so incredibly awesome and intense! And the music was equally so, even on its own.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *